Marathon: Mission Accomplished!

Source

Oh man, I’ve wanted to post about my marathon experience all week, but time has gotten away from me! I went from marathon mode to study-for-my-econ-midterm mode. So here it goes.

20121011-171555.jpg

A little brisk in the morning, but we are all set with our ‘disposable’ layers. The clothes that runners ditched were gathered and donated to the homeless shelters of Chicago.

20121011-192321.jpg

LOVE this photo! Our friends were rocking Wrigleyville to cheer us on around Mile 8. I’m so thankful this picture was captured for us!!

20121011-171609.jpg

DONE! Cue beer drinking, my husband’s favorite post-run activity. It took me a while to get there. 😉 I was too concerned about how to but on my warm pants after the race. I honestly couldn’t figure out how to do it! I was afraid to sit down for fear of being able to get up and I didn’t have enough strength to balance on one foot at a time!

20121011-171620.jpg

These heat tents were awesome, they allow your muscles to stay warm and not tighten and cramp. Also, it made me feel a little bit like super(wo)man. 🙂

Enjoying our victory lap in the great city of Chicago!

It.was.awesome. All the hard work paid off for an incredible experience. The atmosphere of the entire event was electric. Over 40,000 runners and over 2,000,000 spectators withstood a chilly Fall Sunday to rock out a marathon. My husband and I ran every second together and that was perhaps my favorite part. The fans yelling and cheering were a great distraction from the pain that inevitably crept throughout my body. So thank you to the fans! Here were my favorite signs:

Worst Parade Ever
I swear Ryan Gosling is right up there —>
Don’t Poop Your Pants
You’ve got great Stamina, call me!
1st sign: Go Hard, Friend’s sign: That’s What She Said
If Brittany Spears can survive 2007, you can survive this race!
Your PE teacher would be proud!
I thought they said Rum!?
I’m not doing a marathon. I’m doing a marathoner!
If a marathon was easy, they’d call it your mother 🙂
McKayla is Not Impressed (inspired by this page no doubt!)
Free Beer at the end!

Oh man, so fun! I honestly don’t think I could have made it, or had half the enjoyment I did without seeing these laughs along the way. 🙂

If you have any ounce of desire to run a marathon (quick shaking your head…challenge yourself people!), I highly recommend the Chicago Marathon. It’s literally one of the of top 5 marathons in the world and it shows. Everything was top-notch, organized to a “T” and dare I say, fun! 😉

Thanks for all the support from my lovely friends and family. And to my sisters to join me on this crazy journey; you inspire me to the moon and back. Thank you for showing me that a modern woman in 2012 CAN have it all, and the medal to prove it. XOXO.

2 thoughts on “Marathon: Mission Accomplished!

  1. Super proud of you and A! I can run three miles, tops, though I was surprised at how well I felt running a Tough Mudder in May. After 12 miles and 25 military obstacles, I was wet, my body hurt and I seriously just stood half naked in the changing tent because I couldn’t get my body to move! I was also covered in mud…

Leave a Reply

