Happy Retirement Dad!

My Dad walked in to his last day of work earlier this Fall. Can you imagine that feeling!? He spent 38.5 years as a lineman for Alliant Energy. It was hard work and the last couple years really took a toll on his body. Climbing poles everyday with 50+ pounds of equipment will do that to a person. But now he’s done!! My sisters and IΒ surprised him to walk out of the shop, one last time. I’m not sure who it was most emotional for!! πŸ˜‰.

20130909-072856.jpg

His first task of retirement!? It was to enjoy his annual fishing trip to Canada, knowing he didn’t have to come back to work! πŸ™‚ I think it’s safe to say he’s ready…now just to decide which ones to pack (hey, I can relate when it comes to packing shoes for a vacation! ;)).20130909-072909.jpg

His second task? Prepare for one heck of a party!

IMG_5392

Family Shot before the party!

dad and craigThe two Guests of Honor. My Dad, and his co-worker of 35+ years, Craig!

crowd shot 2

A panoramic view of the food and beverage spread, and the crowd.

crowd shot

Over 150 guests came to celebrate my Dad and Craig. I think that’s all we need to know about how awesome these two guys are!

Congratulations Dad. I can’t think of anyone who deserves the luxury of retirement more than you do. Thank you for showing me that hard work, dedication, and smart investing can lead to a great life full of everything you need…and some of the things you want too! May you always find enough fish in the waters and keep you busy. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Happy Retirement Dad!

  1. Pingback: 2013: What A Year! | My Life According to Shoes

Leave a Reply

